Los Angeles International Liszt Competition Results

Mr. Weicheng Zhao, winner of our first organ competition

Mr. Weicheng Zhao, winner of our first organ competition. Photo courtesy of Leslie Eloed.

Ms. Eva Polgar, winner of the Budapest Concert and Concerto Divisions

Ms. Eva Polgar, winner of the Budapest Concert and Concerto Divisions. Photo courtesy of Leslie Eloed.

The 2012 twelfth biennial Los Angeles International Liszt Competition is now completed. Following is a list of winners in each of the categories, including the winner's teacher (in parenthesis) and the works prepared for the competition. In cases where multiple selections were prepared, the underlined repertoire was performed at the final concert on Sunday, November 18.

I - Age 12 and under
Joshua Chen (Claudia Xi) - "Tarantella" (Années de Pèlerinage II)

II - Ages 13-14
Phyllis Pan (Jenny Shin) - "Waltz" from Faust

III - Ages 15-16
Asana Onishi (Bernadene Blaha) - Transcendental Étude No. 10

IV - Ages 17-20
Sofija Nedic (Mack McCray) - Hungarian Rhapsody No. 11 and Paganini Étude No. 3 ("La campanella")

V - Ages 21-35
Myung-Ji Lee (John Milhauer) - "Wedding March" and "Dance of the Elves" from Midsummer Night's Dream (Mendelssohn/Liszt)

VI - Longer Work
Alex Chien (Kai Chi Zhu) - Rhapsodie espagnole

VII - Concerto
Eva Polgar (Adam Wodnicki) - Concerto No. 2 in A Major

VIII - Organ
Weicheng Zhao (Cherry Rhodes) - Fantasy and Fugue on the Name B-A-C-H

IX - Voice
Nandani M. Sinha (Vladimir Chernov) - "O lieb, so lang du lieben kannst" and "Die Lorelei"

X - New York Concert
HeeWoo Kim (Jeong W. Jin) - "Benedetto sia'l giorno," "Freudvoll und leidvoll," "Die Lorelei," "Oh! quand je dors"

XI - Budapest Concert
Eva Polgar (Adam Wodnicki) - "Les jeux d'eaux á la Villa d'Este; Variations on a Theme from Bach's "Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen"; "Polonaise" from Eugene Onegin (Tchaikovsky)

The American Liszt Society Award went to Eva Polgar
The Alan Walker Prize went to Jonathan Levin

Adjudicators for the Piano Division included:
Joseph Banowetz, University of North Texas
Luiz de Moura Castro, Hartt School of Music
Mark Clinton, University of Nebraska at Lincoln
Alexander Djordjevic, Music Institute of Chicago and
    the College of DuPage
Kálmán Dráfi, Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest
Gila Goldstein, Boston University
Thomas Mastroianni, Catholic University and
    President of the American Liszt Society
Edward Rath, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Dimitri Shteinberg, North Carolina School of the Arts
Charles Timbrell - Howard University
Krystian Tkaczewski, Artistic Director - Chopin Int'l Piano
    Competition, Hartford, CT
Alan Walker, McMaster University (Hamilton, Ontario,
    Canada) and author of the pre-eminent
    three-volume biography of Liszt
Adam Wodnicki, University of North Texas

Adjudicators for the Organ Division included:
Frances Norbert, Whittier College
Imre Szilas, Westminster Presbyterian Church and
    Eagle Rock SDA Church

Adjudicators for the Voice Division included:
Mária Eckhardt, Liszt Ferenc Museum and
    Research Center in Budapest
MeeAe Nam, Eastern Michigan University

Geraldine Keeling and Judith Neslény, Co-Founders and Organizers of the LA Competition, would like to thank the following for their support of the event:

  • Azusa Pacific University and its Music Department Chair, Duane Funderburk

  • Trinity United Methodist Church and Rev. Dale Smith

  • Claremont United Church of Christ

  • Steinway Pianos and Seromi Park for providing five grand pianos

  • California Federation of Music Clubs

  • Pasadena Branch of the Music Teachers Association of California

  • The American Liszt Society, for its financial support as well as the source of most of the    adjudicators of the competition, who provided their services without compensation

  • Members of the Hungarian Community

  • DVDs and CDs of the final Evening Concert are available for $20US. Make checks payable to Los Angeles International Liszt Competition and send to 8260 Youngdale Street, San Gabriel, CA 91755. Be sure to indicate your choice of format: DVD or CD!!

    From left to right: Luis de Moura Castro; Judith Neslény; Dr. Frank De Balogh; Geraldine Keeling; Dr. Alan Walker; Dr. Mária Eckhardt

    Award Ceremony at the beginning of the 2012 Competition's Final Concert on November 18, 2012. From left to right: Luis de Moura Castro; Judith Neslény; Dr. Frank De Balogh; Geraldine Keeling; Dr. Alan Walker; and Dr. Mária Eckhardt. Luiz has just received the Order of the Raven, and was named an "Honorary Hungarian" at a ceremony the previous evening. Judith and Geraldine were recognized by Dr. Balogh (LA County Commissioner) for their service to the greater LA community through the LA International Liszt Competition during the past 22 years. Dr. Walker is the author of the renowned biography of Liszt among numerous other publications. Dr. Eckhardt of Budapest was an Honored Guest of the Jury for the 2012 LA Competition. Photo courtesy of Leslie Eloed.